How to get around Italy

There are several transportation options to get around Italy. Some are cheaper than others and some can be faster than others, but it depends on how much time or money you want to spend.

Here are some ways to travel Italy:

  • Renting a car – When I was first planning my trip, I thought that I would rent a car for most of the time. I was wrong. After realizing how much of a pain it would be to try to find parking in these busy towns/ cities, not to mention the cost – I decided to look at other options. I did rent a car in Bolzano to travel through the Dolomites since I wanted to go off the beaten path, but I only rented it for about 4 days and dropped it off in Venice. If you do decide to drive, learn some of their road signs ahead of time to feel more comfortable.
  • Train – I took the train to and from most of the towns and cities I visited. I think one of the best ways to travel Italy is by train. Not only is it affordable, but it’s also fast and you can comfortably take a nap if you’d like! You can either buy train tickets ahead of time so you can map out your itinerary or you can buy them at the station easily. There are a few different sites you can use to purchase train tickets, but the main one is trenitalia and there aren’t any up-charges since it’s the company the other sites get their tickets from. If you decide to purchase the tickets at the station, it’s easier than you might think! I learned some Italian before I traveled to Italy (I recommend to learn at least the basics) so I spoke Italian when buying the tickets, but if you don’t know Italian, don’t worry,  the tellers can speak English too. If you buy you’re tickets online, you do not need to worry about validating them, but if you buy them at the station put them through a small machine at the station to validate them before you get on the train! If you forget to validate your ticket, than the conductor will charge you a fee.
  • Bus – There are bus station throughout most of the cities and towns. I only took the bus along the Amalfi coast to get me from town to town. It might not be the fastest way of travel, but its cheap and there’s room for your luggage too!                           **If you’re staying in Naples, I wouldn’t suggest taking the bus or the taxi ~ my Airbnb host even warned me not to take either while I was staying there.
  • Metro – If you don’t feel like walking throughout a particular city, then the metro is a good alternative! I used the metro in several cities and it’s relatively fast, is air conditioned (most of the time), and not too expensive. If you’re staying in a particular city for a few days, the multiple day passes would be more cost effective for you.
  • Walking – Probably my favorite way of making my way through a city or town is walking. You can check out a lot of sites and soak in the atmosphere around you, not to mention – its free! There are certain circumstances where walking is not that practical like if the weather is way too hot, its raining, or what you want to see is too far to walk. On average I walked 10 miles a day so pack comfortable shoes!
  • Boat – Depending on where you are and where you want to go, a boat is the best choice. Many cities along the coast have ferries that will take you to the islands. Venice has water taxi’s that will take you around the city, Marco Polo airport, and the islands Burano and Murano.

 

HOPE THIS HELPS YOU GET AROUND ITALY SAFELY AND SMOOTHLY! COMMENT BELOW IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS. ♥

Leave a comment